Bloody Mary Gazpacho

I have been receiving the most beautiful heirloom tomatoes in my CSA this late summer: red, green, yellow, orange, and some so deep they’re almost purple. Last weekend I literally thrived off of tomato basil sandwiches. So ridiculously simple and sooo delicious. I have to savor it while it lasts!

I never had gazpacho until recently. (Cold soup? That’s an oxymoron!) But I have to say, with the right tomatoes, and other seasonal freshness, I could definitely become a fan. But even when enjoying some fresh gazpacho, I knew it could be improved–with vodka! I used Sloop Betty, a wheat vodka distilled right here in Maryland. Once Betty was added, it was my kind of gazpacho.

Gazpacho is also a highly flexible dish according to your own personal tastes. Some people want it chunky, some want it smooth, some want it spicy, others are weird. The amount of tomatoes you use may depend on how fresh and juicy they are, so be adaptable. Some people want a  little vodka, others want a lot. But definitely use vodka, because-seriously. Why wouldn’t you?

Bloody Mary Gazpacho

1.5 pounds tomatoes

1 cucumber, seeded

1 green or red sweet pepper

1 spicy pepper (I used serrano)

1 small onion

2-3 cloves of garlic

3 tablespoons vinegar (I used red wine)

1 teaspoon celery salt

2 tablespoons worcestershire sauce

fresh ground pepper

vodka, to taste

Cut vegetables into smaller chunks, toss everything into a bowl and take your handy immersion blender and go at it. Alternately, you can use a food processor or regular blender and blend in two batches. Cover and refrigerate overnight for the best results so that the flavors have time to meld together. Add vodka to taste when ready to serve.

2 thoughts on “Bloody Mary Gazpacho

Leave a Reply

