Watermelon Rum Popsicles

It’s been dancing around 100 degrees with high humidity, but you know what has kept me refreshed? A popsicle made with watermelon and spiked with rum. (And my nice, cool cellar!)

I saw a recipe for watermelon mojito popsicles over at Endless Simmer, but since I am not much of a mint gal, I adapted it to suit my own tastes.

And I’ve been known to mix up a batch of simple syrup from time to time, but it’s not usually something I have on hand. But that’s ok! Simple syrup is simply (hence the name) 1 part water to 1 part sugar boiled together, merely a way to sweeten your beverages without any gritty sugar floating around. So I took 1 tablespoon of sugar and 1 tablespoon of water in a mug, popped it in the microwave and stirred until the sugar dissolved. Easy!

I could actually envision making a big batch of these and freezing in cups instead to make some interesting Italian ices… Things to think about.

Watermelon Rum Popsicles

Adapted from Endless Simmer, makes 4 popsicles

  • 1 1/2 cups watermelon
  • 1 lime
  • 1-2 tablespoons simple syrup
  • 3 oz. rum
  • splash of seltzer (we had pomegranate on  hand!)

Add all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend. Pour in popsicle molds. Freeze! Lick!

One thought on “Watermelon Rum Popsicles

Leave a Reply

