Homemade Kahlua

It’s been way too long since my last post! Shameful, I’m well aware. But I’m back! And I brought Kahlua. Homemade Kahlua. Or “coffee liqueur.”

Usually I make a big batch of Limoncello, but I wanted to expand my horizons. I did extensive research, and I was surprised to find there are many recipes for coffee liquers using instant coffee-but I thought that would be slightly sub par. The only recipe I found using actual coffee beans was in video form from Pour Your Poison. I wrote it out for you.

If you’re doubling your recipe like I did, you can buy the big handle and use 6 cups of vodka. Next time I’ll try making it with rum!

Kahlua isn’t as pretty as Limoncello (one thinks about these things when giving out as gifts), but it tastes delicious!

Homemade Coffee Liqueur

8 cups of water

5 cups of sugar

1 bottle of vodka

6 Tablespoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups ground coffee

Make a syrup out of the water and sugar by heating together on the stove. Once the sugar has dissolved completely let it cool to room temperature. I don’t have an airtight container to store the mixture in, so I use a large stockpot. Once cooled, add the vodka, vanilla and coffee and stir to combine. If using a stockpot, place saran wrap over the top before placing the cover on. Store in a cool, dark place. After a month has passed, strain out the coffee grounds.

One thought on “Homemade Kahlua

  1. Pingback: Kahlua Brownies with Kahlua Icing | intoxicatingeats

Leave a Reply

